Senate Resolution Celebrates the Fulbright Program

A resolution introduced by Senator John Boozman (R-AR) and Congressman French Hill (R-AR) last week commemorates the 70th anniversary of the Fulbright Program. Since its inception in 1946, the renowned program has received wide recognition, boasting more than 370,000 alumni, including 82 Pulitzer Prize recipients, 54 Nobel Prize laureates, and 33 heads of state, according to the resolution.

The formal recognition will take place on August 1, 2016, celebrating the program started by former Arkansas Senator J. William Fulbright. In a press release, Congressman Hill commented on the contribution of the program that originated in his home state:

 “Over the past year, I have had the good fortune to meet with Fulbright Scholars from many different countries, each offering their own unique and inspiring story that was made possible by the legacy of Senator Fulbright. As an Arkansan, I am proud of this extraordinary contribution to the international community, and I am honored to be able to celebrate its global impact by introducing this resolution with Senator Boozman”

The resolution (S.R. 504) also encourages the President and Secretary of State to work with the Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs (ECA) to continue support for the work of the Fulbright Program. Senator Boozman stressed the role of the Fulbright program as an effective public diplomacy tool:

“Senator Fulbright’s vision for connecting our world through education is an important diplomatic tool. The Fulbright program creates a better understanding of different cultures and ideals while promoting peace and higher education. Today, as violence and intolerance grows across the globe, I believe the Fulbright program remains a beacon of hope for a better future.”

The Senate resolution is cosponsored by Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-VT). House cosponsors include the entire Arkansas House Congressional Delegation Representatives Rick Crawford (R-AR), Steve Womack (R-AR), Bruce Westerman (R-AR) and Tom Cole (R-OK), Derek Kilmer (D-WA), Alan Lowenthal (D-CA), Charles Rangel (D-NY) and Mark Takai (D-HI).